FanatismThe Future Past

12" Vinyl LP


SKU: DRR018 Category:

Product Description

For the 18th release on Drone Rock Records we return to Sweden for something very special indeed….  ‘The Future Past’, the deubt album by Fantatism. These guys are acutually an offshoot of the superb Kungens Man who have made some of my favourite modern psych albums of the last few years. So, when they contacted me out of the blue about the possibilty of releasing this record, I just had to say yes straight away. This record has a bit of everything…70’s prog, free-jazz, heavy rock, psychedelic improv….it’s all here. And, once again, the tracks have been given the mastering treatment from Mr John McBain.

‘It’s hard to put my finger on exactly why I like this Fanatism album so much. This is because it is made up of such an eclectic set of of tracks that seem to range from jazz to post-punk, and many points beyond and between. What brings them together is sense of power and purpose that really drives these songs forward.’

Psych Insight

‘The variety contained within makes it a real smorgasbord of delights…the way it trips from motorik based krautrock to more pastoral psych and finishing with some retro synth sounds is truly wonderful and goes to make this an album of many dimensions… a trait that is sadly missing in so much music these days’

Dayz Of Purple & Orange


The Future Past will be a super limited pressing of 300 copies available in two variants:-

Special edition

200 copies pressed on clear heavyweight vinyl with black stripe effect. These will be offered to previous customers and mailing list subscribers first.


Regular edition

100 copies pressed on classic black heavyweight vinyl.

Additional information

Weight N/A

special edition, regular edition

  1. När man allting sett Fanatism 7:31
  2. Shiv-Li-Yeah Fanatism 3:46
  3. Quantum Fuzz Fanatism 6:29
  4. Upon The Cross Fanatism 4:25
  5. Tiden rinner Fanatism 6:26
  6. Nackögon Fanatism 4:24
  7. One Of Us Can Not Be Me Fanatism 5:40
  8. The Future Past Fanatism 6:51


Fanatism from Stockholm, Sweden are part of the same collective that spawned the psych improv bunch Kungens Män. Fanatism started out in 2013 after Switch Opens, the previous progressive heavy rock band of guitarist Tomas Bergstrand and bassist/guitarist Mikael Tuominen, was put to rest. They wanted to do something more primitive, straight forward and psychedelic and soon recruited the synth player Peter Erikson and the jazzy drummer Jonas Yrlid. Towards the end of the recording sessions for the album free jazz player Gustav Nygren added tenor saxophone on a few tracks, and soon joined the band also as an additional guitar player.

You will meet Fanatism somewhere on the crossroads between Stooges Street, Can Road and Morricone Avenue. “The Future Past” on Drone Rock Records is their debut album.