StereociliaHive Mind

12" Vinyl LP


SKU: DRR012 Category:

Product Description

‘Hive Mind’ is the 3rd full length album from Stereocilia, and heaviest to date. This 4 track album spanning over 40 minutes takes you on a journey exploring the boundaries of drone and psych. ‘Hive Mind’ also sees Stereocilia collaborating with another musician for the first time, with a guest appearance from Thought Forms drummer, Guy Metcalfe. Guy brings his unique drumming style to the 20+ minute sonic exploration, ‘Another Sleepless Dream’ and adds a new dimension to ever evolving project that is Stereocilia.

Hive mind will be a total pressing of 300 records (with 60 going directly to the artist), with two variants:-

Special edition heavyweight vinyl with splatter effects

150 copies on transparent blue heavyweight vinyl with splatter effects. Regular customers and mailing list subscribers will be offered the chance to purchase this special edition first.

Transparent blue vinyl edition

150 copies on transparent blue vinyl


Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg

special edition, regular edition

  1. The Water Has No Darkness Stereocilia 3:42
  2. Static Stereocilia 13:02
  3. Aurora Borealis Stereocilia 3:31
  4. Another Sleepless Dream Stereocilia 22:30


Stereocilia is Bristol based guitarist and composer, John Scott. John uses his guitar, analog synths and live looping techniques to create dense, rich layers of sound. His live show is centred on a visual backdrop he has created, with the improvisation acting as a live soundtrack.
Over the past 10 years John has performed all over the UK and Europe, sharing the stage with acts such as, White Hills, Acid Mothers Temple, Ben Frost, Noveller, Mick Turner (The Dirty Three), Jozef Van Wissem, Natural Snow Buildings, and many others. He has presented work for live radio broadcasts, and regularly composes music for short films. He has also performed in three of Rhys Chatham’s 100-piece guitar Orchestras, in Liverpool, Birmingham, and San Francisco.
Stereocilia’s debut album Mumurations came out on his Echoic Memory Label in November 2013, bookended by two E.P’s and a string of compilation appearances. 2016 saw the release of his second album, ‘The Road to the Unconscious Past’ also on Echoic Memory. 2017 will see 3 EP’s released on the labels; Low Point, Champion Versions and Environmental Studies.

“It’s a sometimes hazy, always pretty testament to the power of ambient drone. Recommended for
all fans of ambient drone music with overlays of post rock.”
‘Road to the Unconscious Past’ review, Echoes and Dust

“The result invokes a post-apocalyptic landscape of decaying structures and haunted fields.”
‘Slow Motion’ Review, Avant Music News

“A sweet pillow of sound that echoes around the room in drifts of light, beautiful and relaxing, the sound of tranquillity at its best.”
‘Slow Motion’ Review, Terrascope