Earthling SocietyZen Bastard

12" Vinyl LP


SKU: DRR007 Category:

Product Description

Following on from their wonderful contribution to the Magnetic North compilation, Drone Rock Records are pleased to welcome back Earthling Society with their new album, “Zen Bastard”. And what a record it is to really start 2017 with a bang. Unsurprisingly, this record is already proving to be a winner with the reviewers….

“At times truly blistering, as a whole possibly their most satisfying listen so far, and easily betters a lot of vintage material of a similar bent.”

Record Collector

“…a label with a finger firmly on the pulse of the psychedelic zeitgeist. The release of ‘Zen Bastard’ however sees both Earthling Society and Drone Rock Records surpass themselves. This early on it may be a bit much to already pronounce this an album of the year, but 2017 will have to surpass the bumper year that was 2016 for this not to make the top 10…if I had a reputation, I’d stake it upon this. Bloody genius!”

Dayz Of Purple And Orange

“I have a feeling that every listen of this superb set of songs will glean a different voyage. I’d go further…this could well be The Earthling Society’s AND Drone Rock Records’ finest release to date…a confluence that is as impressive as it is surprising given what has gone before, from both parties.”

Psych Insight

Zen Bastard is a studio recording capturing the live sound of Earthling Society. Revisiting tracks from their first two albums ‘Outsideofintime’ (Albion) and ‘ The Kosmik suite ‘ (Plastic Jesus) the band set out to do justice to these classic space rock songs by giving them the throttle that was lacking in the original 8 track recordings.

Recording was completed over a weekend in April 2016 at the legendary and idyllic Foel Studios home to bassist Dave Anderson of Hawkwind & Amon Duul2 fame.

The album also features a brand new song in the title track. A Satori inspired wig out to the children of the mushroom.

Fred Laird – vocals, guitars, gakken, coral sitar, mellotron and lap steel.

Kim Allen – Bass

Jon Blacow – Drums and percussion

All songs by Fred Laird
Arranged by Earthling Society
Engineer – Tom Wild


Zen Bastard will be a pressing of 300 copies in total and, like the last 5 releases on Drone Rock Records, will be available in two different variants. Both versions also come with the added download of the full, unedited 16 minute version of the title track when purchased through the Drone Rock Records website.

Super Zen Edition

Previous Drone Rock customers and the mailing-list subscribers will be offered the chance to get their hands on this beauty first. The most ambitious looking record DRR have released yet, this edition will be pressed on a combination of transparent green and transparent blue vinyl with red, yellow and clear splatter effects. 150 copies in total.

Zen Edition

A further 150 copies pressed on transparent blue vinyl.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg

special edition, regular edition

  1. Zen Bastard Earthling Society 8:27

Earthling Society

Earthling Society are a UK psychedelic / Krautrock band formed in the North West Of England in 2005. They have released 6 acclaimed albums in as many years and have been championed by the likes of Julian Cope & Stuart Maconie as well as playing alongside such great acts as Damo Suzuki, The Groundhogs, Hawkwind, Leafhound, Litmus and White Hills.

Over the years Earthling Society have worked with some great independent labels such as Nasoni of Berlin, 4Zero and the huge fish cult that is Fruits de mer records.