Stupid Cosmonaut

Formed in 2016 in the North West of England, Stupid Cosmonaut draw inspiration from science fiction and the cosmos to create beautifully haunting visions of a not too distant dystopian future. As the band has grown from 2 to 4 members so the sound has progressed and evolved. A vast reach of influences can be found from caustic, electronic hallucinations as chilled as Tangerine Dream and Klaus Shultz to more organic, heavier, crushing moments approaching Ufomammut and Neurosis territory.

Since formation in early 2016, Stupid Cosmonaut have shared the stage with acts such as Conjurer, Necro Deathmort, Scattered Purgatory, Lost Under Heaven, A Forest of Stars and Regardes Les Hommes Tombre. They have appeared live on BBC introducing, as well as receiving plays on Amazing Radio and Primal Radio. Previous material self released on cassette tape by the band has been well received with a feature in print publication ‘Wire’ magazine, as well as reviews on popular websites, Chromaticism, Echoes and Dust, Psych Insight, Dayz of Purple and Orange, Primal Radio, The Obelisk, Andrulian and Son of Marketing.

Steve McNamara – Synths, bass

Sam Read – Synths, guitar

Andy Hunt – Drums

Mark Hawnt – Synths




  1. Field Trip Stupid Cosmonaut 6:29
  2. The Water Has No Darkness Stereocilia 3:42
  3. Saturdaze Domboshawa 7:18
  4. Godshaker The Space Spectrum 5:41
  5. Passing Between Dancing Giants Stupid Cosmonaut 7:09
  6. OutsideOfInTime Earthling Society 12:31
  7. Shivers Kill West 4:43
  8. Lupine Wavelength Dead Sea Apes 8:59
  9. Horizon Psychic Lemon 10:16
  10. Inner Voice The Space Spectrum 11:06
  11. 02. Freedom Ride 4:39